Center for Financial Stability

Subscribe to CFS Updates


William A. Barnett
Director / Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement

William A. Barnett is director of the Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement Program at the Center for Financial Stability. The program provides national and international databases of monetary and financial data that are rigorously founded in economic aggregation and index-number theory. Data includes monthly releases and relevant analysis of US money supply.

Professor Barnett is an eminent economic scientist. He is the originator of the Divisia monetary aggregates and the “Barnett Critique.” His work in the area of monetary and financial economics has been highly influential in shaping academic and central-bank staff research on the econometrics of financial aggregation and policy in the last thirty years. At least 37 countries and economic unions either officially or unofficially construct Divisia monetary aggregates.

Dr. Barnett is Oswald Distinguished Professor of Macroeconomics at the University of Kansas Department of Economics and Core Faculty Member of the Center for Global and International Studies at the University of Kansas, as well as a Fellow of the TANDO policy institute, Fellow of the Institute for Applied Economics at Johns Hopkins University, and Honorary Professor at Henan University in Kaifeng, China. He is Founder and Editor of the Cambridge University Press journal, Macroeconomic Dynamics, and Founder and Editor of the Emerald Press monograph series, International Symposia in Economic Theory and Econometrics. Dr. Barnett recently founded the Society for Economic Measurement, a major new international society, and serves as past president. He also recently founded and directs the new Institute for Nonlinear Dynamical Inference at the University of Kansas.

He previously was on the staff of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System in Washington, DC for eight years, was Stuart Centennial Professor of Economics at the University of Texas at Austin, Full Professor of Economics at Washington University in St. Louis, and Research Associate at the University of Chicago. Before becoming an economist, he was one of the engineers who developed the rocket engines for the Apollo project at Rocketdyne Division of Boeing Corporation in Los Angeles. He received his BS degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, his MBA degree from the University of California at Berkeley, and his MA and PhD degrees from Carnegie Mellon University. His biographies appear in Marquis‘ Who‘s Who in America and Marquis‘ Who‘s Who in the World.

He has published over 200 articles in professional journals and 27 books, as either author or editor. His research has been published in 7 languages. He co-authored the book, Inside the Economist's Mind, with the late Paul Samuelson, America‘s first Nobel Prize Winner in Economics. His most recent book, Getting it Wrong: How Faulty Monetary Statistics Undermine the Fed, the Financial System, and the Economy, was released by MIT Press in January 2012. Professor Barnett has received over 23 different awards and honors. In 2013, he was awarded the Balfour S. Jeffrey Research Award in the Humanities and Social Sciences. He won the American Publishers Award for Professional and Scholarly Excellence (the PROSE Award) for the best book published in economics during 2012 for his MIT Press book, Getting It Wrong. Special issues of two eminent professional journals, the Journal of Econometrics and Econometric Reviews, have been published in Professor Barnett's honor with contribution by many of the world's most prominent economists. The organizers and editors of the two special issues are Apostolos Serletis, Distinguished Professor of Economics and Finance at the University of Calgary in Canada, and James J. Heckman, Nobel Laureate in Economics and the Henry Schultz Distinguished Service Professor of Economics at The University of Chicago.

During January 2017, Professor Barnett was interviewed in depth about his life's work by Apostolos Serletis.


Advisory Board

Randal K. Quarles

William R. Rhodes

Eduardo Aninat, Ph.D.

Sheila Bair

Senator Bill Bradley

Joyce Chang

M. Shafik Gabr

Charles Goodhart, CBE, FBA

Henry Kaufman, Ph.D.

Barbara G. Novick

Guillermo Ortiz, Ph.D.

Richard L. Sandor, Ph.D., Dr. Sc.h.c.

Myron S. Scholes, Ph.D.

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins (2010-20)

Judge Richard A. Posner (2010-20)


Sheila Bair
Advisory Board Member and Senior Fellow

William A. Barnett
Director / Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement

David Beers
Senior Fellow / Sovereign Risk Analysis and Policy

Bradley J. Bondi
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Kevin R. Brock
Senior Fellow / Cybersecurity Strategy

Alvin Chua
Senior Advisor

Stephen Dizard
Special Counselor

John D. Feldmann
Senior Fellow

Kate Flanagan
Senior Fellow / Consumer Finance

Peter Flocos, Esq. (Trustee)
Managing Director, Policy and Regulation

Patricia Wilson Fridley
Senior Advisor

Diane B. Glossman
Senior Fellow / Financial Institutions

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder

Steve H. Hanke
Special Counselor

Steven Lofchie
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Robin L. Lumsdaine
Senior Fellow / International Finance

Jack Malvey
Special Counselor

David X Martin
Special Counselor

Ryan Scott Mattson
Research Associate

Nicholas Sargen
Senior Fellow / Global Markets and Investment Management

Charles Schott
Senior Advisor

Kurt Schuler
Senior Fellow / Financial History

Liting Su
Research Associate

Jeff van den Noort
Chief Technology Officer

Yubo Wang
Senior Fellow / Financial Markets