Center for Financial Stability

Subscribe to CFS Updates


Kurt Schuler
Senior Fellow / Financial History

Kurt Schuler is an economist in the Office of International Affairs at the U.S. Department of the Treasury. In his spare time he pursues an interest in economic history; the Historical Financial Statistics data set elsewhere on this site is one result. Schuler’s affiliation with the Center for Financial Stability centers on the development of the free of charge Historical Financial Statistics and implies no endorsement by the Department of the Treasury.

Before joining the Treasury, Schuler worked as a consultant, then as an economist at the U.S. Congress. As a consultant he undertook projects for aid agencies, central banks, investment firms, and think tanks around the world. He also wrote studies about currency boards with Steve H. Hanke of Johns Hopkins University, which influenced monetary reforms in the 1990s in Bosnia, Bulgaria, Estonia, and Lithuania. At the U.S. Congress he was a senior economist at the Joint Economic Committee. There he wrote staff reports on taxation, spending, and monetary policy, and occasionally assisted with drafting legislation. His research on dollarization had some influence on Ecuador’s dollarization in 2000.

Schuler has a Ph.D. in economics from George Mason University. He has been a postdoctoral fellow at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore. He has written more than 100 publications, including books, essays, and newspaper articles. Because of his job, he refrains from commenting on matters of current economic policy and focuses his work for public consumption on matters of economic history.


Advisory Board

Randal K. Quarles

William R. Rhodes

Eduardo Aninat, Ph.D.

Sheila Bair

Senator Bill Bradley

Joyce Chang

M. Shafik Gabr

Charles Goodhart, CBE, FBA

Henry Kaufman, Ph.D.

Barbara G. Novick

Guillermo Ortiz, Ph.D.

Richard L. Sandor, Ph.D., Dr. Sc.h.c.

Myron S. Scholes, Ph.D.

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins (2010-20)

Judge Richard A. Posner (2010-20)


Sheila Bair
Advisory Board Member and Senior Fellow

William A. Barnett
Director / Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement

David Beers
Senior Fellow / Sovereign Risk Analysis and Policy

Bradley J. Bondi
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Kevin R. Brock
Senior Fellow / Cybersecurity Strategy

Alvin Chua
Senior Advisor

Stephen Dizard
Special Counselor

John D. Feldmann
Senior Fellow

Kate Flanagan
Senior Fellow / Consumer Finance

Peter Flocos, Esq. (Trustee)
Managing Director, Policy and Regulation

Patricia Wilson Fridley
Senior Advisor

Diane B. Glossman
Senior Fellow / Financial Institutions

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder

Steve H. Hanke
Special Counselor

Steven Lofchie
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Robin L. Lumsdaine
Senior Fellow / International Finance

Jack Malvey
Special Counselor

David X Martin
Special Counselor

Ryan Scott Mattson
Research Associate

Nicholas Sargen
Senior Fellow / Global Markets and Investment Management

Charles Schott
Senior Advisor

Kurt Schuler
Senior Fellow / Financial History

Liting Su
Research Associate

Jeff van den Noort
Chief Technology Officer

Yubo Wang
Senior Fellow / Financial Markets