Center for Financial Stability

Subscribe to CFS Updates

Advisory Board

Guillermo Ortiz, Ph.D.

Guillermo Ortiz is Chairman of BT Pactual Mexico. Previously, he was Chairman of Grupo Financiero Banorte-IXE, Governor of the Bank of Mexico from 1998 to 2009 and Secretary of Finance and Public Credit of the Mexican Federal Government from 1994 to 1997. Prior to heading the Finance Ministry, he served briefly as Secretary of Communications and Transportation at the outset of the Zedillo Administration.

Other past professional experiences include being Undersecretary of Finance and Public Credit (1988-1994), Executive Director at the International Monetary Fund (1984-1988) and Manager as well as Deputy Manager in the Economic Research Department of the Bank of Mexico (1977-1984). In 2006, he was appointed to the Board of the Bank of International Settlements (BIS) and was elected Chairman of the Board in 2009. At the BIS he also chaired the Central Bank Governance Forum. He also was a member of the Committee to Study Sustainable Long-term Financing of the IMF (2006-2007) and of the Committee on IMF Governance Reform (2008-2009). At the IMF he also chaired the External Panel for the Review of the Fund’s Risk Management Framework (2010-2011).

Currently, he is a member of the Group of Thirty. He is also director and member of other international organizations and serves on the Board of several companies.

Dr. Ortiz has taught at universities in Mexico and the US. He has written and published two books and numerous papers on economics and finance in specialized journals in Mexico and abroad, and has received several honors and awards. He holds a Ph.D. in economics from Stanford University and a B.A. and M.S. from the National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM).



Advisory Board

William R. Rhodes

Eduardo Aninat, Ph.D.

Sheila Bair

Senator Bill Bradley

Joyce Chang

M. Shafik Gabr

Charles Goodhart, CBE, FBA

Henry Kaufman, Ph.D.

Barbara G. Novick

Guillermo Ortiz, Ph.D.

Richard L. Sandor, Ph.D., Dr. Sc.h.c.

Myron S. Scholes, Ph.D.

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins (2010-20)

Judge Richard A. Posner (2010-20)

Randal K. Quarles (2010-17)


Sheila Bair
Advisory Board Member and Senior Fellow

William A. Barnett
Director / Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement

David Beers
Senior Fellow / Sovereign Risk Analysis and Policy

Bradley J. Bondi
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Kevin R. Brock
Senior Fellow / Cybersecurity Strategy

Alvin Chua
Senior Advisor

Stephen Dizard
Special Counselor

John D. Feldmann
Senior Fellow

Kate Flanagan
Senior Fellow / Consumer Finance

Peter Flocos, Esq. (Trustee)
Managing Director, Policy and Regulation

Patricia Wilson Fridley
Senior Advisor

Diane B. Glossman
Senior Fellow / Financial Institutions

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder

Steve H. Hanke
Special Counselor

Steven Lofchie
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Robin L. Lumsdaine
Senior Fellow / International Finance

Jack Malvey
Special Counselor

David X Martin
Special Counselor

Ryan Scott Mattson
Research Associate

Nicholas Sargen
Senior Fellow / Global Markets and Investment Management

Charles Schott
Senior Advisor

Kurt Schuler
Senior Fellow / Financial History

Liting Su
Research Associate

Jeff van den Noort
Chief Technology Officer

Yubo Wang
Senior Fellow / Financial Markets