Center for Financial Stability

Subscribe to CFS Updates

Advisory Board

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins served from 2001 to 2005 as the United States Executive Director to The World Bank in Washington, D.C, appointed by the President of the United States and confirmed by the U.S. Senate. Ms. Brookins is founder and chairman of The First Alliance (TFA) Foundation and currently serves as a member of the American Financial Exchange (AFX) Board of Directors, Nieuw World Capital Management’s Advisory Board and the Center for Financial Stability’s Advisory Board and Board of Directors and as a Managing Director of Public Capital Advisors. Ms. Brookins is a member of the U.S. Council on Foreign Relations, Women Corporate Directors (WCD), Indiana University’s School for Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA) Manufacturing Policy Initiative Advisory Board and the Bretton Woods Committee.

Ms. Brookins recent corporate board and advisory board service has included the AIM-listed holding company Climate Exchange plc (CLE) and the Chicago Climate Exchange (CCX) and was Chairman, the North American Advisory Board of NTR plc until 2011. She was a member of the Rabobank North America Agribusiness Advisory Board through 2017 and on the Board of Trustees of E-4 Impact-a UK-based non-profit that accelerates African energy access through SME’s. Ms. Brookins founded and served as Chairman and CEO of World Perspectives, Inc—a Washington-based commodity policy and markets consulting firm, with clients in the financial, agribusiness and public sectors—from 1980-2001. She began her career as a municipal bond underwriter in Chicago and worked in commodities markets with the Chicago Board of Trade and as a Vice President of E.F. Hutton in New York.

Her public sector activities have included service on numerous government and non-governmental committees and organizations. A member of the U.S. State Department Advisory Committee on International Economic Policy (ACIEP) in the 1990’s, she served as chairman of the Committee’s Sanctions Working Group. President George Bush appointed her to membership on the President's Export Council in December of 1990. In December 1984, Ms. Brookins was named Chairman of the Department of State's private sector Advisory Committee on Food, Hunger and Agriculture in Developing Countries, mandated by President Reagan. She was a member of the U.S. National Committee for Pacific Economic Cooperation (PECC) from 1988-2001, chairing the 23-member economy group’s Food and Agriculture Forum; and the APEC RISE (Regional Integration for Sustainable Economies) initiative.

Ms. Brookins has been awarded the Merit Agricole by the Government of France and was honored as Woman of the Year by the Organization of Women in International Trade (OWIT) in 2003.

It is with profound sadness to inform you that our CFS Board member and cherished friend, Carole Brookins passed away from complications associated with COVID-19.  More 

Read her speech to the Bretton Woods 2014 conference, “Thoughts on World War II in July 1944”.

To listen to Carole Brookins deliver her Bretton Woods speech, please click here.



Advisory Board

Randal K. Quarles

William R. Rhodes

Eduardo Aninat, Ph.D.

Sheila Bair

Senator Bill Bradley

Joyce Chang

M. Shafik Gabr

Charles Goodhart, CBE, FBA

Henry Kaufman, Ph.D.

Barbara G. Novick

Guillermo Ortiz, Ph.D.

Richard L. Sandor, Ph.D., Dr. Sc.h.c.

Myron S. Scholes, Ph.D.

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins (2010-20)

Judge Richard A. Posner (2010-20)


Sheila Bair
Advisory Board Member and Senior Fellow

William A. Barnett
Director / Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement

David Beers
Senior Fellow / Sovereign Risk Analysis and Policy

Bradley J. Bondi
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Kevin R. Brock
Senior Fellow / Cybersecurity Strategy

Alvin Chua
Senior Advisor

Stephen Dizard
Special Counselor

John D. Feldmann
Senior Fellow

Kate Flanagan
Senior Fellow / Consumer Finance

Peter Flocos, Esq. (Trustee)
Managing Director, Policy and Regulation

Patricia Wilson Fridley
Senior Advisor

Diane B. Glossman
Senior Fellow / Financial Institutions

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder

Steve H. Hanke
Special Counselor

Steven Lofchie
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Robin L. Lumsdaine
Senior Fellow / International Finance

Jack Malvey
Special Counselor

David X Martin
Special Counselor

Ryan Scott Mattson
Research Associate

Nicholas Sargen
Senior Fellow / Global Markets and Investment Management

Charles Schott
Senior Advisor

Kurt Schuler
Senior Fellow / Financial History

Liting Su
Research Associate

Jeff van den Noort
Chief Technology Officer

Yubo Wang
Senior Fellow / Financial Markets