Thought Leadership
The Society for Economic Measurement (SEM)

"Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted."
Albert Einstein

"By measurement to knowledge [door meten tot weten]."
Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, "The Significance of Quantitative Research in Physics."
Inaugural Address at the University of Leiden (1882)).

"There is no science without measurements, no quality without testing, and no global markets without standards."
Commission of the European Union

The Society for Economic Measurement (SEM) was founded to promote research on economic measurement, using advanced tools from economic theory, econometrics, aggregation theory, experimental economics, mathematics, and statistics and to facilitate communication among researchers in fields and methods that will enhance the development of economic measurement. The long run objectives are to meet the data standards established for the physical sciences, subject to the inherent limitations of a social science. The society’s founding cosponsors are Carnegie Mellon University, the Center for Financial Stability, and the University of Kansas.

The President of the society is CFS Director, William A. Barnett.

The society’s primary web site is hosted by Carnegie Mellon University at:

The society does not charge dues but does charge conference registration fees. The society can be joined by using the registration form on the SEM’s primary web site. To join the society, click on the “Contacts and Membership” tab, and then click on the “Online Registration Form” link to display the registration form.

The society’s Executive Committee is:

W. A. Barnett , U. of Kansas and Center for Financial Stability, NY City.

Vice Presidents:
Yves Balasko, PUC-Rio de Janeiro, Brazil and U. of York, UK
Ernst Berndt, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Erwin Diewert, U of British Columbia, Canada
Dale Jorgenson, Harvard University
Ken Judd, Stanford University (Hoover)
Jacques Mairesse, CREST (ENSAE, Paris), UNU-MERIT (Maastricht University, Maastricht)
J. Peter Neary, Oxford U., U.K.
Paul Schreyer, Deputy Director, OECD Statistics Directorate, Paris, France.
Karl Shell, Cornell University
Marcel Timmer, University of Groningen, Netherlands

Members at Large:
Jim Heckman, U. of Chicago and University College, Dublin

Member by Appointment of the Center for Financial Stability:
Lawrence Goodman, President, Center for Financial Stability, NY City

Stephen Spear, Carnegie Mellon U.