Thought Leadership

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder

Lawrence Goodman is founder and president of the Center for Financial Stability (CFS).

Mr. Goodman was managing director and global head of emerging market strategy at Bank of America, where he promoted thinking among strategists and economists to identify unique macro themes and trading opportunities. Mr. Goodman also originated and orchestrated a semi-annual policy forum for investors with senior officials in Washington, DC. Earlier in his career, he represented Bank of America on Bank Advisory Committees - analyzing and negotiating Brady sovereign debt restructuring agreements.

Prior to Bank of America, Mr. Goodman was the head of Quantitative Policy Analysis at the U.S. Treasury - advising the Under Secretary on a wide range of issues. Mr. Goodman managed Treasury's international crisis prevention and early warning system (EWS). He co-founded and chaired an inter-agency group, comprised of 13 agencies to advise principals and deputies throughout the U.S. government on financial, economic, and political risks. Other responsibilities included managing Treasury's global economic analysis; econometric policy modeling; Treasury International Capital (TIC) system; Foreign Exchange Report to Congress; as well as prognoses of oil and commodity markets. Mr. Goodman also led the creation of the Treasury debt sustainability and capacity model designed to strengthen policy negotiations with debtor nations and multilateral agencies.

Previously, he was the chief global economist and managing director at Santander Investment, where he served on the executive committee for the Global Equity Group. Before Santander, he was the head of economic research for Latin America at Salomon Brothers Inc. He was repeatedly ranked in the top five for economic research by Institutional Investor.

Mr. Goodman holds a B.A. from the University of Pennsylvania, an M.B.A. in quantitative finance from University of California at Berkeley, and has engaged in Ph.D. studies in economics at The New School. Mr. Goodman is a member of the Financial Research Advisory Committee at the U.S. Treasury’s Office of Financial Research - where he chairs a working group on market liquidity. He is also a member of the executive committee of the Society for Economic Measurement (SEM). Previously, he served on the board of the Emerging Market Traders Association (EMTA). He is a member of the Bretton Woods Committee, member of The Economic Club of New York, and contributor to Forbes.

  Advisory Board

Eduardo Aninat, Ph.D.

Senator Bill Bradley

The Honorable Carole L. Brookins

Peter Flocos, Esq.

Charles Goodhart, CBE, FBA

Henry Kaufman, Ph.D.

Barbara G. Novick

Guillermo Ortiz, Ph.D.

Judge Richard A. Posner

Richard L. Sandor, Ph.D., Dr. Sc.h.c.

Myron S. Scholes, Ph.D.

Randal K. Quarles (2010-17)


William A. Barnett
Director / Advances in Monetary and Financial Measurement

Bradley J. Bondi
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Kevin R. Brock
Senior Fellow / Cybersecurity Strategy

Alvin Chua
Senior Advisor

Lauren Cooper
Manager of Communications

Stephen Dizard
Special Counselor

John D. Feldmann
Senior Fellow

Kate Flanagan
Senior Fellow / Consumer Finance

Patricia Wilson Fridley
Senior Advisor

Diane B. Glossman
Senior Fellow / Financial Institutions

Lawrence Goodman
President and Founder

Steve H. Hanke
Special Counselor

Steven Lofchie
Senior Fellow / Legal Studies

Robin L. Lumsdaine
Senior Fellow / International Finance

Jack Malvey
Special Counselor

David X Martin
Special Counselor

Ryan Scott Mattson
Research Associate

Nicholas Sargen
Senior Fellow / Global Markets and Investment Management

Charles Schott
Senior Advisor

Kurt Schuler
Senior Fellow / Financial History

Liting Su
Research Associate

Bruce Tuckman
Senior Fellow / Financial Markets Research

Jeff van den Noort
Chief Technology Officer

Yubo Wang
Senior Fellow / Financial Markets